The Life I have Chosen…

” Since this is the kind of life we have chosen, the life of the Spirit, let us make sure that we do not just hold it as an idea in our heads or a sentiment in our hearts, but work out its implications in every detail of our lives. That means we will not compare ourselves with each other as if one of us were better and another worse. We have far more interesting things to do with our lives. Each of us is an original. “

***

Part of the REPURPOSING journey for me, for sure has been learning to let go of alot of things / ideas / plans.butterfly

Part of the REPURPOSING journey for me, for sure has been tapping in to thoughts that are higher than my own, that take into account the BIG picture and that are not so consumed with my own wishes, dreams and plans.

butterfly

Part of the REPURPOSING journey for me, for sure has been learning to let go, to be still in the now, and to be content with the present, not looking to any person, thing or event to satisfy me.

Part of the REPURPOSING journey for me, for sure has been learning to look at others with a new lens – one that says they are no better, nor any worse than me and my own spiritual condition.  We all have our junk.  We all struggle with our private inner thoughts and character.  We all need redemption day after day after day.

butterflyPart of the REPURPOSING journey for me, for sure has been learning about the ability to tap into a source so satisfying that things of this life, are growing strangely dimmer and dimmer – there is so much that just doesn’t matter or take priority with me any more.

Part of the REPURPOSING journey for me, for sure has been the release of details and control in all those daily things that drive us crazy….finances…relationships…worries…

butterflyI rest differently now.  I rest in a knowing that I matter in all the right ways, and I don’t hold any false positions or ranks in all the wrong ways.  My perspective has shifted, my wants are few, my desires dimmed.  This is not a process that I could have initiated, planned, or plotted through any 5, 8 or 18 step program….this could only come about by own willingness to give up, give in, give over, give all.

I’ve chosen to become less, instead of more.

I’ve chosen the less walked path,instead of the well-marked one.

I’ve chosen the unknown, and know now that NOT knowing is somewhat freeing, gratifying and releasing. 

I, for one, stand amazed.

*

I don’t know what’s next.  Tomorrow.  Next Week.  Next Year.

I could be back in the corporate world.  I could be slinging burgers.  I could be rich – I could be poor.  I could be healthy – I could be sick.  I could be up – I could be down.

I don’t know those details.  I do know that where I am and what I do will be by His Hand, and for His Glory.

*

butterflybutterfly

Join me: I’m

REPURPOSED on Facebook

(the words at the top are from Galatians 5:25 – the Message version)

Linked in here:

Leave a Reply

  • RSS Visit my most recent posts here:

