Stitched Bits and a 60 cent bag of scraps

I created this ‘stitched bit’ almost two years ago when I began my artistic journey:

bits1

I still love looking at it – something in me connects with fabric…!

So, I thought maybe it was time to create another one, and I created one this week:

bits2

Just bits of nothing really, and yet oddly calming and quieting to work on.  As I arrange and then re-arrange the ‘bits’ I find myself transported to places of ‘nowhere’.  Everywhere but nowhere.

Thinking about lots of things, but thinking about nothing.

Dreaming many dreams but dreaming of nothing.

Odd.  Calming.  Restoring.

****

On one of my jaunts through a thrift store I happened upon a bread bag of scraps in Christmas colors – reds / greens / prints….all obviously cast-off and cut-offs from Christmas Crafts Past and it was ONLY 60 CENTS, so I rescued it from the thrift store and sat down to create something….I added a few buttons, and it slowly started to take shape:

60cents2

The colors seemed to dictate a Christmas theme, and so I just stayed with that:

60cents4

kept finding bits….putting them together in interesting combinations:

60cents3

and I emerged with this:

60cents1

60cents5

I included loops on the top and hung it from a rod I had….still haven’t pressed it but I stitched a back to it and I guess I will call it freehand-textile-art….!

From something that someone else considered garbage, or a waste, something (somewhat!) beautiful was able to be created…..isn’t that a great metaphor for our lives?  How many of us live thinking or feeling that all we’ve got left is the garbage, the waste…how much good do we actually have left to offer the world?

How many of us think that what we have to give is worth nothing, or maybe only 60 cents….

Maybe the magic isn’t in our offering.  Maybe the magic is in allowing someone with greater vision and creativity the opportunity to form something beautiful out of it.

I’m just sayin’.

***

All this stitching reminds me of some work my friend Julie has done….work completely done with fabric: 

julie1

 

julie2

hmmm…maybe I’ll have to keep exploring!

 *

Here is someone else exploring their love of fabric through stitched bits.

*
Join me: I’m

REPURPOSED on Facebook

I joined the blog party at:

also linked up here:
DIY Day @ ASPTL

One Response to “Stitched Bits and a 60 cent bag of scraps”

  1. Mom Says:

    Good job. You did create something really great. Proud of you in more ways than you will ever know.


Leave a Reply

  • RSS Visit my most recent posts here:

