Memory Quilt…..

Let me just say right up front, I am not a quilter…never done it, never thought I would explore it….but….last week while at the thrift store, some donations came in from someone’s mother who had recently passed.  I know the daughter as an aquaintance and I was overcome with a thought as I saw all those clothes.

It just seemed like there was SOMETHING that could be done to ease her grieving, at least just a little….so I rummaged through, and pulled out some items and got busy that evening.

Once I had started, I realized that there was still a very strong lingering of her mother’s perfume on these items, and so I told myself I needed to work really fast so that I could present it, with the scent of her mother still ‘alive’ on it.  So…I was up until midnight…cutting, pressing, sewing….and I came up with just a small little lap quilt, or, as I’ve shown here, a neat little roll pillow….

It was just one small thing, that I could do…..

quilt2

 

quilt1

4 Responses to “Memory Quilt…..”

  1. Mom Says:

    Good job, I am sure they will always treasure that piece. I am so proud of you for first of all thinking of it and secondly, actually doing it. You’re the best

  2. Helen Wolfe Says:

    You are an amazing woman!! Your Mom would be soo proud of you. Thanks for sharing your heart and the inspiration that you are to your readers and those who know you. I’m so glad we’ve connected after all these years.

  3. angela Says:

    What a great idea. I’m sure it will be comforting.

  4. Diane Says:

    I’ve been crazy quilting with fabric scraps, and old clothing from my bag of clothing we no longer wear. Crazyquilt onto an old sheet. Then, with special paper, make iron transfers with ink jet printer….favorite Bible verses, pictures of special events, and pictures of the children I’m making the quilt for… Iron onto quilt top, then blanket stitch to inexpensive fleece blanket. The whole project, less than $10…maybe even less than $5 if I find the fleece on sale. The grandkids LOVE the personalized memory quilts I call “Gramma’s Comforts”


Leave a Reply

  • RSS Visit my most recent posts here:

