5 day challenge – DAY 5 of Beans and Rice

If you have ever felt like you’re here for a reason, for something bigger than yourself, you owe yourself the courtesy of at least exploring that.

What is woven into your DNA, and by whom?

What work is waiting for you that is connected to LIFE?

**

I know this for sure.  We have one major choice in life.

Life or Death

That’s it.

Long story short is life, truly living, is being connected to a source that is powerful enough to create something from nothing, to move the seasons in and out, and provide for all living things.

Death is not knowing, striving for something that ends with darkness.

When I chose Life, my perspectives changed on a lot of things.  THINGS, status, title, started to hold very little weight.  Relationships, sharing, caring and love started to mean more.  You can read a little something about that here:  https://repurposed.wordpress.com/repurposed-life/

Now God has us where he wants us, with all the time in this world and the next to shower grace and kindness upon us in Christ Jesus.

Saving is all his idea, and all his work.

All we do is trust him enough to let him do it.

It’s God’s gift from start to finish! We don’t play the major role. If we did, we’d probably go around bragging that we’d done the whole thing!

No, we neither make nor save ourselves. God does both the making and saving. He creates each of us by Christ Jesus to join him in the work he does, the good work he has gotten ready for us to do, work we had better be doing.

**

beans4

on the advent of Day 5, I already know that I eat too much…..I eat more food than my body needs and shame on me.

With all the resources I have at hand, I abuse them by taking more than my share.   That changes today.

I haven’t been all that hungry on Beans & Rice & Oatmeal….and I think I figured out why.  It doesn’t TASTE good.

I am more addicted to TASTE than the food.  I let the TASTE of food determine how much I eat vs. what I really need to keep living.

I choose food based on a momentary pleasure.

I am certainly not advocating eating a restricted diet like this for anyone….we’ve been taking in less than 600 calories a day….that is NOT HEALTHY either.

But I will pay more attention to WHY I’m eating.  Is it for taste or because I’m hungry?

Back to regular programming next week – thanks for making this journey with me…!

*

Leave a Reply

  • RSS Visit my most recent posts here:

