5 day challenge – DAY 1 of Beans and Rice

I’m part of a group of people who has decided to live the way over half the world lives for just 5 days….on less than a dollar or two a day…

For 5 days, we will eat nothing but rice / beans / oatmeal.  Oh, and water….

Furthermore, it will be one cup cooked only two or three times  a day.

beans

Do we think that by not eating we relieve the suffering of those who are hungry in our world at all?  I don’t think so…I think we just do it to gain a new perspective.  What does hunger feel like?  We have no clue.

I’ll log a few of my thoughts as we go…

DAY 1:

For me, I need a micro focus to do this sort of thing….to contemplate world hunger just does not do it for me in the long run…I need micro bits and pieces to stay on course.

For today, I choose to contemplate the excesses in my life.  Not only food, but money, time, stuff…..what of what I have do I waste and how could it be better channeled…?

If anyone has material possessions and sees his brother in need but has no pity on him, how can the love of God be in him? …. let us not love with words or tongue but with actions and in truth….



2 Responses to “5 day challenge – DAY 1 of Beans and Rice”

  1. Dawn Says:

    Wow, I am really looking forward to updates on this one. 🙂

  2. Mom Says:

    Is J going to participate too???? I look forward to hearing how this plays out…


Leave a Reply

  • RSS Visit my most recent posts here:

