Happy New Year!

This is not your standard New Years’  day post.

That’s probably because I’m not ‘standard issue’.

hair5

I’m an oddball in a standard issue world and that’s OK with me….I roll a little differently and I thought I’d encourage you to do the same.

**

Instead of filling it up…. empty it out.

Instead of accumulating… destash

Instead of panicking… pray

Instead of talking… listen

Instead of leading… follow

Instead of

“Me” choose “You”

Instead of

“too busy” choose “I’ll make room for you”

When you find yourself saying

“I need it”, ask “who could use it more?”

When you find yourself saying

“I’m important”, remember to live as though there are no levels…

Instead of

“won’t” choose “should I?”

Instead of doing it the same old way, ask “is there something better?”

Instead of …….?  There are between 80 and 200 people who read this blog every day ( yeah, shocks me too…!) and this is a call to delurk….if you’re reading this entry, it’s time to raise your hand and complete this list….

What can you fill in for an “Instead of……” for your life in 2009? click on the comments below…

**********

find others who are listing their 2009 resolutions:

http://laurelwreathsreflections.com/years-reflections

http://www.thehappyhousewife.com/

http://theinspiredroom.net/2008/12/31/a-beautiful-life-12-months-of-goals/

18 Responses to “Happy New Year!”

  1. repurposed Says:

    alright people…it’s 11 am and 11 visitors have already come and gone without leaving a comment….don’t be shy….!!!

  2. Michelle Says:

    Here’s one that I need to remember:
    Instead of putting it down “for now” put it away.

    You have inspired to me clean off my desk and I’m doing it now. It’s a small start, but it will lead to bigger things – a clearer mind, more time spent doing things on purpose.

    Happy New Year!

  3. repurposed Says:

    Thanks Michelle! Good one! I need to do more of that too!

    V.

  4. The Happy Housewife Says:

    Great unusual list! Those are some great principles to live by!
    Toni
    http://thehappyhousewife.com

  5. Julia Says:

    I think I am going to roll along with you this year. Really like your insteads-great idea.

  6. repurposed Says:

    Thanks ladies…so I’m wondering…100 people visited this post so far today and only 3 have commented….so, are New Year’s resolutions something that we are afraid to type out?

    Does the thought of someone else knowing your deepest desires / wishes / thoughts / hopes of change frighten us somehow?

    Give the ‘insteads’ some serious thought. I think it’s easier to walk our way through this life if we can identify those moments when we can pinpoint where change must come….it’s easy to say “lose 10 pounds” but not have a clue how to do it. If we say “choose carrots over chocolate” that’s a whole ‘nother ball of wax…!

    So, anyhew…to those of you not commenting, I continue to encourage you to play along….you might find it freeing to pinpoint even one ‘instead’ for yourself.

    Instead of …(not commenting)….. choose ….(joining in on community!)….

    V.

  7. Sher Says:

    I have no idea why people read blogs and don’t leave comments. Maybe they’re just not the “Commenting type.” I always wish for more comments, too! It makes me happy!

    Instead of tears, I’m discovering God’s desires for me.

    Happy New Year.

    And…. your eyes are just gorgeous!

  8. Deedra Says:

    I’m one of those people who reads but do not comment. Most times I just have nothing interesting to add. 🙂 But since you asked…..Instead of just getting by I’m going to look for memories. Let me explain that a little. I have 7 kids 2, 4, 4, 6, 10, 14, 15. Most days it’s all I can do to just get us through the day. Special moments and times get down played. I’m going to try harder to stop “getting by” and start celebrating those special moments in time.

  9. repurposed Says:

    thanks Sheri – I visited your blog and left you a comment..

    thanks Deedra – two blogs that might really help to encourage you are busy moms:

    http://likemerchantships.blogspot.com/

    http://www.reluctantentertainer.com/

    They both are great for ideas of simple ways to celebrate small moments…

    thanks for de-lurking gals!

    V.

  10. Leslie Says:

    Pondering your ‘instead ofs…’ The one that struck me was ‘instead of too busy, I’ll make time for you.’ I’m adjusting to an empty nest (both kids in college now) and something strange has happened — little neighborhood kids are dropping by. They’re looking for snacks, help, a hug, some attention…love? So, while I’m tempted to guard my newfound ‘alone’ times at home, I’m sensing a greater purpose in pouring a little of my life into these little ones. So, thanks for once again putting words to a season…

  11. PearlsOfTruth Says:

    I am a first time visitor here… I get frustrated too, when people don’t leave comments, so here goes…

    Instead of moaning and complaining, I need to rejoice and praise MORE!

    Yes, I need very desperately to pick my socks up, and get on with it… am glad for a fresh slate called 2009…

    Blessings to you,
    Amanda
    (Aust)

    ps. I left a comment on a pastors blog, and your left a comment beneath mine… listing a scripture in Job. It is one of my all-time favourite scriptures. I nearly fell over, as I rarely hear anyone quote it. Thank you 😉

  12. Mom Says:

    Hey Beautiful, and you are; inside and out. You have inspired me to use up what I have instead of going out and buying things. So every time I am freezing my fingers digging through the freezer to see what we want to have for supper, I can think of you….LOL This principle is also applicable in one certain room in the house, I bet you can know which one that is…

  13. Heather S Says:

    Instead of waiting till later, do it NOW. That is going to be my motto now this year. I am such a procrastinator!!! That needs to change. Thanks for making me think!

  14. repurposed Says:

    that’s such a good one…like right now, I need to GET OFF THE COMPUTER, and go exercise instead of waiting to later…!

    Tx for the comment and the kick in the butt!

    V.

  15. Sarah Markley Says:

    thanks for sharing your link.

    i like your insteads. very unique and inspiring!

  16. Dave Roller Says:

    That’s a very good use of the biblical concept of taking off and putting on. Good luck and God bless!

  17. MichelleH Says:

    I had to sit and think about this for a while….thank you for making me take the time to do so.

    This year instead of thinking how important people are or how much I appreciate what they do I am going to TELL THEM. I am a cardmaker and I’m going to pop little ‘thanks for what you do’ or ‘you are special to me’ notes in the mail. Who doesn’t like getting real mail and who doesn’t like to feel appreciated?

    Thank you for your list! Many of them I need to implement.


Leave a Reply

  • RSS Visit my most recent posts here:

