Holiday House Tour

I know so many of you have a different philosophy on decorating than I do.

My philosophy = see how little I can spend….( of course, it would be easiest to just spend zero and don’t decorate at all, but there’s no challenge in that!)

Not that there is anything wrong with spending money to make your house beautiful and inviting….me, I just get the heeby jeebies when I think about spending  money on things that once I’m gone, have no value….it’s just the way I roll.  So my little tour will highlight some of the fun, interesting and creative things I’ve done around our home for the holidays!

First of all, welcome to Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

That is directly north of FARGO, North Dakota.  yup, THAT Fargo.

boomama11

That’s lookin outside my dining room window, and no, I’m not going outside to get a shot of the house from there….this obligatory front door shot from inside the house will have to do ’cause I’m not going out in the minus-something-freezing cold tonight!

This is a recent acquisition for 99 cents.  It is VERY plastic, but for some odd reason, looks oddly 'real'....

This is a recent acquisition for 99 cents. It is VERY plastic, but for some odd reason, looks oddly 'real'....

I highlighted this beady wreath in last year’s tour….I was even more excited to see a similar one at the Craft Store this week for $24.99.  I paid a buck for the beady stuff at a yard sale last year and just wrapped it into a wreath-sort-of shape.  The bow I added this year….it came on a gift I got last year.

boomama8

From there, I’m highlighting a new little corner that I’ve set up over my buffet….normally the cat eats on there (because the dog eats all her food if I leave it on the floor, that’s why…) but in recognition that my shots would certainly need to be much more staged, I removed it (the cat food… yes we are a long thought away from that already, I know…).

I found the snowman last spring at a GoodWill store for $4.99

I found the snowman last spring at a GoodWill store for $4.99, and the smelly sticks were a birthday gift from my sister...( oh, you can probably see some of the cat food on the buffet...oh well...so much for staging!)

Where was I?  oh right…In a previous post about my new mistreatments, I did say that I would get a shot of the dining room all prettied up, so here it is.. (so, the wall color is going to magically become that soft taupe color like you see in the carpet and the bottom of the drapes…mmm that’sa gonna be nice…!)

boomama12

The sideboard on the right side is adorned with this little Christmassy display

The Santa and his mailbox were in an auction box, so technically, they were 'free', the Santa Stars I made, the garland was free from my dad when he moved, and I do believe I paid 50 cents each for the votive holders

The Santa and his mailbox were in an auction box, so technically, they were 'free', the sled was a gift from my sister-in-law, the Santa Stars I made, the garland was free from my dad when he moved, and I do believe I paid 50 cents each for the votive holders

Moving along, I have had this garland (is that what it  is called?) for years…I hosted a party-lite party and I think I used up some ridiculous hostess ‘credit’ for like 50 bucks on the thing…it found a home this year over our kitchen chalkboard…

(yes, I still need bulbs for the office..now 3 out of 4 are burned out, it is getting dark in here...)

(yes, I still need bulbs for the office..now 3 out of 4 are burned out, it is getting dark in here...)

I gone and done did spoil myself this year…..these towels were $6.99 at Home Sense, so I treated myself!

boomama131

I updated my hallway display this year….

The garland was purchased at Salvation Army for $4.99; I made the two stockings last year; the fishbowl was a 10 cent garage sale acquisition...the fluffy snowman was a secret santa gift.

The garland was purchased at Salvation Army for $4.99; I made the two stockings last year; the fishbowl was a 10 cent garage sale acquisition...the fluffy snowman was a secret santa gift. I don't really remember getting the Christmas Tree balls, but in all liklihood they came out of an auction box at some point over the past 10 years...

My previously featured Garland:

garland4

has been updated with some gold ribbon, and a couple of feathered birds that I thrifted for $2.99 this week:

boomama51

boomama6

I picked up this ceramic carolling family at GoodWill for $2.99

boomama9

And our tree. …

Every year I pull this tree out of the rubbermaid tub and I HATE it.  But every year, I tell myself that there is no good reason on earth to go spend money on another one when we ALREADY own one.  We start hanging the decorations and the lights and the shiny garland, and bit by bit, OUR tree emerges.

If you squint and turn your head sideways, it does quite nicely!

Notice the REPURPOSED tablecloth being used as a tree skirt; and my Mother in Law was getting rid of some fabric, so FOR FREE, I whipped up a few drawstring gift bags as our first attempt to stop using wrapping paper this year...

Notice the REPURPOSED tablecloth being used as a tree skirt; and my Mother in Law was getting rid of some fabric, so FOR FREE, I whipped up a few drawstring gift bags as our first attempt to stop using wrapping paper this year...oh, and we've also wrapped some paper and ribbon around a PRINGLES can, and it's ALREADY holding dad's gift from #1 son!

So, there you have it from WINTERPEG.

If I owned a nicer camera, I would take alot more overall room shots, but I don’t, so this will have to do….

Just a reminder, it’s SO NOT about the gifts, it’s SO NOT about what you spend, it’s about the memories you create and the remembrance of the one who came over 2000 years ago….I’m SO NOT religious, I’m SO NOT into cramming this down anyone’s throat, but I do challenge you to look at the season a little differently this year….

I spent alot of time thinking God wasn’t relevant because RELIGION kept me blinded.

If you don’t believe the documented history of Jesus Christ, is it because RELIGION is in the way?

Don’t let that stop you from exploring a personal relationship with HE WHO CREATED ALL…and that includes you.  He made you, and loves you … in fact he loves you too much to leave you where you are today.  Don’t let me or anyone else get in the way of exploring what that means.

All righty then….in the interest of keepin’ it real, because that’s what we do around here, I need to get off my computer and get back to real life which looks more like this on a regular basis:

boomama151

boomama16

14 Responses to “Holiday House Tour”

  1. Carol Says:

    Oh my goodness! I love your little carolers. What a find! I collect them (didn’t post them this year) and am always on the lookout for carolers. Not easy to find, actually.

    Your home is very festive! Merry Christmas

  2. Pendy Says:

    You are a girl after my own heart. I enjoy things so much more when I know I’ve found a bargain.

  3. sjbraun Says:

    I love your home, and I share your philosophy. I haven’t bought a Christmas item in years, because I have so much already, and why spend yet more? Love your Goodwill finds … the search for a bargain is a lot of the thrill. Merry Christmas!
    Susan
    http://girlsinwhitedresses.wordpress.com/

  4. Jennifer Says:

    Your not too far from us…we’re in Hallock, MN about 60 or so miles from you! I love your philosophy and it’s one I try to use as often as possible!!!!

  5. Bekah ~Bizzy B's Says:

    wow! thanks so much for the lovely comment on my blog regarding my Christmas Decor! I especially love my feather trees also. You can’t tell by the picture but they also have little hints of red glitter ever-so-often on them! Also, I forgot to take a pic of the wreath that matches them! It’s on my back door and is completely made out of the red feathers too w/a big gold bow! 🙂 I hope you have a Merry Christmas! God Bless you.
    ~Bekah
    Bizzy B’s
    Magnolia, Arkansas

  6. Angie Says:

    I love what you have done with all the free or repurposed stuff!
    I have lots of pringles cans and now I know what to do with them 🙂 Merry Christmas

  7. leslie Says:

    VERY PRETTY!! Merry Christmas

  8. Erin Says:

    Thank you for the tour! Merry Christmas!

  9. Heather Says:

    I love your thrifty decorating! I never manage to have much luck finding Christmas stuff at our thrift stores, so I must content myself with bargains at the store.

  10. ooglebloops Says:

    Love your thrifty decorating – I am very proud of my vintage 19 cent electric Christmas candle found at the thrift store!!! LOL And, I have often cut the bottoms out of tubes of makeup or eye cream to get every last expensive drop!!!!

  11. Carla Anne Coroy Says:

    Very cool. My favourite picture is the last one! Makes me feel right at home… except that we have WAY MORE dirty plates after a meal! 🙂

  12. Keepie Says:

    Your decorations are lovely, but my heart was MOST touched by the keeping it real kitchen shot. Thanks – – – mine looks like that on nearly a DAILY basis.

    Merry Christmas – – – thanks for the tour.

  13. Paige Says:

    What a lovely home. Thanks for sharing!

    Best wishes to you and our family during this Christmas season.

  14. Ashley @ Domestic Fashionista Says:

    I love the decor…I especially like the elf dish towel…he’s so cute! Thanks for stopping by my blog! I am so glad I could send some inspiration your way! 🙂 Happy New Year! Ashley


Leave a Reply

  • RSS Visit my most recent posts here:

