Keepin’ It Real – Laundry Mishaps

Ok, so I’m experimenting….

My duvet was looking a little tired, kind of yellow and it was time to haul it off to the drycleaners again.

ah, what the heck I figured….I’ve been wanting to try washing something with AMMONIA and bluing powder, so why not now?

comforter3so yeah…I photographed the French side of the

Ammonia bottle….but I think you get the drift…

I guess the fact that I DO NOT OWN A Front Loading Washing Machine maybe should have made me think this through a little more, but I’m not known for following directions anyway…

comforter2

So, I tossed it into my top loader, with a cup of ammonia, 1/2 a cup of the bluing powder stuff and let ‘er rip.  When I opened the machine, I was quite pleased…..it really came out very white – woo hoo success!!!

So I tossed it into the dryer to get some of the moisture out before hanging it to dry the rest of the way….it’s when I hung it up that I noticed it….

Have you ever had a dog with an itchy butt?  You know how they drag themselves along the carpet or whatever else is handy?  Well in a coupla places, that’s kind of what THIS looks like….

comforter1

I’m thinking it was in the places where the water and cleaning agents just never got to do their stuff since the comforter was scrunched into my top loader really, really tight….

Anyways…lesson learned…while I’m pretty sure it’s not ruined, I am going to have to trudge it off to a laundrymat ( I don’t even know where to find one…) and give it a try in a front loader….or maybe I just need to spring for drycleaning it again……not gonna happen.

So, in the meantime, I’ll strategically fold and cover those places with the other blankets on our bed, and look for other things to make white that aren’t so darn big and puffy!

C’est la vie.

3 Responses to “Keepin’ It Real – Laundry Mishaps”

  1. Mom Says:

    Where did you get the big bottle of White Brite? I like that stuff for poly/cotton material. It brightens it without destroying the colours. But I have always only found it in smaller containers. I have never used ammonia, but will have to give it a try. Keep at it, girl…

  2. repurposed Says:

    I think I found it at the Wal-marts???

  3. Sarah Markley Says:

    Hi! Thanks for visiting my blog! I browsed through a few of your posts – you are unique and interesting. Very cool. And I like you “take” on life and that you share it with others. Blessings.


Leave a Reply

  • RSS Visit my most recent posts here:

