What Works for Me – Wednesday

Every Wednesday, Shannon at ‘Rocks in my Dryer’ hosts a blogging carnival where anyone who wants to join in can leave a tip or helpful hint for everyone else.  This is the first time I’ve participated!

My tip for this week involves Laundry Softener / Dryer Sheets.  I’ve not liked the perfuminess of bounce for some time, and I hate how expensive dryer sheets of any kind are.  For a long time, I was tearing my Costco sheets in half and that seemed to still work pretty well.

I found this ‘greener’ brand at the Drug Store and I hate it….

softener1 softener2

….I think I might try to exercise their Product Guarantee, but they likely won’t honor it without a receipt, and really, who keeps the receipts for those sorts of things??  I’ll probably try anyways…maybe they’ll let me trade even up on something else.

However, in my quest for all things greener, I decided to try one of the ‘recipes’ out there for homemade fabric softener.  So here is what I tried last week for the first time:

softener3

It was easy now that I have all that old hair conditioner sitting around!

I taped the ‘recipe’ right onto the top of the pail so I don’t have to go looking for it.

softener41

It seemed to work fairly well on the umpteen loads of laundry that I processed last week.  One or two sticky socks but I was mildly amused and pleased with the outcome.

Anyhew, that’s what is workin’ for me!

3 Responses to “What Works for Me – Wednesday”

  1. Rebeckah Says:

    Interesting. I need some more. Maybe I will try this tonight. Thanks for sharing!

  2. radicalancient Says:

    Hey, are you still going no ‘poo? I found your blog on a search for “no ‘poo”, and bookmarked it. Now I come back and find no further posts on the subject 😦 . Do drop me a comment if you’re still keeping up the efforts!

    BTW, a cup of vinegar also works as a great fabric softener if you want to try 🙂


Leave a Reply

  • RSS Visit my most recent posts here:

