The Choice

Unarguably, many of the little and big things in life are brought about by one thing…..our choice.

We choose every day the kind of wife we will be.  We choose every day the kind of mom we will be.

We choose how to fill our 1440 minutes each day.

We choose where each dollar goes….

dollarsign1

I want today’s post to be a very practical thing you can refer to when it comes to choosing things which come into your home and your life.

Ask yourself these questions:

1)  Do I need this?

“qualifier:  yes…even ask this question about food, toiletries and cleaning products”

2)  What is it replacing?

“qualifier:  did I just use something up, and need a replacement, or is there a more practical replacement I can choose….or do I need it at all?  Have I just become accustomed to having it?”

3)  Could I be making a better choice?

“qualifier:  now here is where those of you who think frugal = cheap may be surprised.  Sometimes the better choice costs more”

4)   Can I wait?  Do I need this today?

“qualifier:  you might be amazed at how long you can put off a purchase instead of giving in to immediate gratification”

Here’s a link to a lady who has decided to use what is in her cupboards and freezer instead of just trying to fill them up each week….her grocery budget is $60 / week for a family of 4.

5)  Am I buying this to impress someone else?  Do I think I need this to make my home, me, my kids etc. look a certain way?

“qualifier: If I lived in the woods, and nobody was visiting for 6 months, would I need this?  Do I feel like less of a mother / wife / homemaker if my home doesn’t look a certain way?”

6)  When I die, is this going to add value to my estate?

“qualifier:  this one is from personal experience….I’ve handled enough estate sales / garage sales to know that our stuff is worth bubkus, nadda, zip”

7)  What will happen to this when I am done with it?  Can it be recycled or will it end up in a landfill?

“qualifier:  to say I’ll give it to charity’ is not really a good option…the person buying it from the resale shop will probably not give as much thought to recycling it as you will”

Those are just a few of the questions I’ve learned to ask myself when making decisions about where my next dollar goes.  Amazingly, since working on this ( and it is work…!), I’ve found I have more money available to be generous, to give to charity, to save and to pay off debt!  It really, really works.

The hard part is the discipline of sticking with it.  The hard part is not worrying what friends and family think of my choices.  They are MY choices.  I feel comfortable with them, I know it’s for the right reason.

**

I’ve been emailed that some of you don’t know how to leave a comment….you just need to look right below the post, and look for where it says ‘ (#) Comments‘ and click on it.

**

For my friend who emailed me and asked “so are you becoming a minimalist hippy?”……

Nope.  Would a hippy wear these…????

boots1

(Qualifier:  these are all about me baby, all about me…!)

6 Responses to “The Choice”

  1. Leslie Says:

    Hey, V! Love the post and REALLY love the boots! It’s all about balance, isn’t it? Thanks again for letting me share your manifesto – it touched a lot of people – some of whom commented on the blog. I’ve checked in on you from time to time and always enjoy your insights – I plan to try a couple of those recipes, too! I’m a big fan of the slow cooker and extremely suspicious of those packaged slow cooker thingys as well! Hope you have a blessed holiday season! I’m determined to breathe deeply and make it meaningful – not a whirl of stress, buyer’s remorse and overscheduling!

  2. Bonnie Says:

    Thanks for sharing, Viv! I agree totally with what you have written. One thing I have begun to consider seriously is the “packaging” we purchase with some items – especailly food!

    A case in point is crackers! I have begun to make our own crackers. It’s easy, inexpensive, nutitious & we love them…and…no more recycling of cardboard & plastic!

  3. Mom Says:

    Like Sandra said “do I love it?” That is a line that runs through my head too, whenever I am looking at purchasing something.

  4. V. Says:

    While a good one to add, the “do I love it?” question can be extremely deceitful.

    In 1993 I LOVED perms. ’nuff said.

    We love alot of things in life…NONE of them will ultimately fill any hole we have. We THINK lots of things will make us feel better, fill our need…but yet…after 6 months or a year with alot of things….we have to question our LOVE for it.

    LOVE for anything carnal can’t really be trusted…

    just my thoughts on that.

    V.

  5. Cheapskate tips for frugal Christmas decorating « Repurposed Says:

    […] decorating, I have to really question each and every purchase…..( I wrote about that process here […]

  6. Mom Says:

    I was thinking more along the lines of when Sandra offered me a piece of her chocolate bar, but I could only have it if I loved it. And since it wasn’t my favorite chocolate bar, I found I could leave it along quite easily. And you are right, that the ‘love it’ thing may apply now, but down the road you might think quite differently.


Leave a Reply

  • RSS Visit my most recent posts here:

