Taking the No-Poo challenge…

Well, it’s been about two weeks on the No Poo experiment.

For someone who has very fine hair, but LOTS of it, it took me some convincing that I wouldn’t be dealing with a flat droopy mess every morning.

Other than a bit of static (which is normal this time of year anyways..) I’d have to say that it seems to be working!  I haven’t washed my hair since yesterday ( with water….) at the gym and it’s still going strong with body and bounce…(ugh, ignore the end of day face y’all…)

nopoo1

I would never have that much body and bounce on a regular routine….

I haven’t had to fight too many heeby jeeby moments…it helps that I can just put my hair up….but I figure I’ll keep going a week or two more, just to find out where my hair normalizes.

Why go No-Poo?

I figure it this way…..somebody, somewhere said we need to spend money (and MORE money) on our hair.  What did people’s hair look like when they were only washing it once per week (or less) and using homemade lye soap ( or nothing)?  Sure..maybe hairstyles were different, but nonetheless, there is a lie out there that says all our solutions have to come from the next PRODUCT.  I’m just on a quest to knock down which of those lies I can…to see how things can be done differently.

Honestly, I can afford the shampoo.  That’s not really the point.

The point is…what have we been led to believe that isn’t necessarily true?

What can we do differently and be just as happy doing?  What lies out there are stealing our money, our time, our focus from better things?

I know one thing for sure.  My body does not need to be absorbing any more chemicals than necessary…

I’ve already switched to a crystal deodorant about two years ago.  It’s not normal either, and you have to get used to it, but I feel so much better knowing that I’m not loading my body full of toxins…

It’s all a part of the repurposing of me.

EDIT:  Here is two days later – still going strong…

nopoo12

update:  two weeks later.…here’s a morning shot. (Nov 27)  Why does my son not think it’s wierd when I ask him to take a picture of me to update my blog at 8 in the morning while still in my pjs?….as captured by an 8-year-old…!

nopooupdate1

9 Responses to “Taking the No-Poo challenge…”

  1. Mom Says:

    Hey girl, you know I have been trying hard to stop using so many chemicals for a while already. This whole business of washing your hair every day and then having to use a bunch of conditioner is crazy. Now I dont’ think I could go for a week without washing my hair, but I sure think every other day is better than every day. Plus like you say, the deodorant, no, or at least fewer, fragrances, pure soaps instead of fillers, water for cleaning instead of all kinds of toxic concoctions. Good for you, you are the best, luv ya

  2. Sandy Says:

    Cool! Have you heard of Norwex? No chemical cleaning in my house anymore! Try it!

  3. repurposed Says:

    Hi Sandy, yup – if you follow the link on the crystal deodorant you will see it goes right to Norwex…MIL is a consultant!

  4. Carla Anne Coroy Says:

    I am very intrigued with this no poo thing. It’s Nov. 24th now… how is it going now? I have a question for you and maybe you can give me some advice. I used the Norwex crystal deodorant for about 2 years and then all of a sudden developed an allergic reaction to it. I stopped using it and my rash went away. Then I got another one (actually I got 4 – one for each kid) and tried it again before I gave it to my youngest thinking that maybe there had been bacteria on my old one. But I had the same reaction. I’m wondering if you have any other natural deodorant ideas?

  5. What Works for Me - Wednesday « Repurposed Says:

    […] It was easy now that I have all that old hair conditioner sitting around! […]

  6. Hair On The Brain Says:

    i too have gone no-poo, with great results! nice to see that others have had the same success.

  7. No Poo UPDATE « Repurposed Says:

    […] by repurposed on December 18, 2008 I had a comment asking about my No Poo Experiment, so I thought I would update […]

  8. Sher Says:

    I have super fine hair and a lot of it, too! But, mine gets oily at the front and on the scalp. Did the water work ok for that? Or, was that not an issue for you?

    And… what are your “repurposed” ideas on adult skin care/acne?

    I’m loving your blog!

  9. repurposed Says:

    I will have to keep updating my progress on this….I think the trick is to keep changing up the routine based on ‘that time of the month’, weather, and any other kind of stresses your hair goes under.

    I have been experimenting quite a bit and will update soon.

    re: adult skin care….I’m assuming the problem is oily skin since you’re asking about acne. The simplest thing I’ve found is dietary changes….lots of water, not overeating, and a generally healthy diet. Juicing / raw is a great choice for so many reasons…maybe not always fun but you can transform your body and skin and have more energy than you’ve had in years!


Leave a Reply

  • RSS Visit my most recent posts here:

