Practicing Satisfaction

 

Sometimes parenting hits you smack between the eyes…

Take for instance the (ongoing) conversation we are having in our house about being thankful for and satisfied with what we have….

HBI, at 8 years old, is always asking for ‘next’ thing.  PlayStation wasn’t good enough so he got an XBox, now that’s not good enough and he wants a Wii, etc, etc.  This goes on and on and it’s now starting with clothes.  So we are talking about practicing satisfaction.

While I think we have somewhat of a balance in most of these areas, I think God used this parenting moment to say a little something to me.

Whenever I start feeling again like it might be nice to work full time, he gently reminds me ” what, being a mom who gets to work from home, be there to put HBI on the bus and take him off, isn’t good enough for you anymore, you want MORE?”

me:  well yes…sometimes I get tired of living on a (tighter) budget, and not having the freedom to spend like I used to.

“so the fact that you are well supplied for isn’t enough?

me:  it’s not that, it’s just that I don’t feel like I’m being productive enough with my time….I could DO so much more.

“so do you think you are practicing satisfaction with the blessings you have?”

me:  uh no.

“why not?”

me:  I’m not seeing that as a blessing.  As much as I want to ‘be home’, there is just so much more that I want – not just to have, but to do.

“at what cost?”

me:  huh?

“what are you willing to give up to have it?

me:  huh?

“will you trade a relaxed and balanced home environment with your husband and son for some more trinkets or stuff?”

me:  uh no.

“will you trade HBI’s sense of belonging and security for your own pursuits?”

me:  uh no.

“every choice has a trade off.  You are free to make your choice…just know that there is a trade-off in it somewhere.  When you are blessed by my hand, there is no trade.  It’s a GIFT from me to you.  It’s yours.  Just enjoy it – no strings attached.”

me:  duh.  I may never learn..

One Response to “Practicing Satisfaction”

  1. Mom Says:

    Just be glad you have a choice. I didn’t, to my undying regret. You are a great mom and have learned so much in the last while. I don’t tell you enough how proud I am of you and how much I love you.


Leave a Reply

  • RSS Visit my most recent posts here:

