Raising the class of 2018

Having a child born in the year 2000 is a special thing I think. They will be a class that for many reasons had different expectations over them than others.

They forged the way into a new millenium…they will always know how old they are as long as they know what year it is….all the ideas of what ‘life would be like in the year 2000’, from years past come to rest as we look ahead to different milestones.

When I mentioned that it was our responsibility to come up with dessert for the family Easter gathering, he quickly said “what about a chocolate volcano cake?”

Being the nurturing mamma that I am, I applauded that idea and proceeded to ask “what would it look like? what kinds of things would we use?”

He didn’t ponder long and decided that chocolate bars and cherries would make the perfect volcano. I think I shocked him when I asked “so, do you want to make it?”

After a short conversation, we had our shopping list made:

chocolate cake
cherry sauce
chocolate sauce
4 different kinds of chocolate bars
Whipped cream ‘in-a-can’

Now you have to understand…..his Chef Daddy started cooking at age 5 or 6, so the fact that HBI was ready to take this on at age 7 was really a proud-daddy moment…!

Here is the result!

cake1.jpg

 

 cake4.jpg

 

cake5.jpg

That photo looks better than any Pioneer Woman has ever done!

***

Anyone else raising a kid from the class of 2018?  Would love to hear from you!

 

 

3 Responses to “Raising the class of 2018”

  1. Nan Says:

    What a fun idea and so cool you were willing to take on that task of creating the product of his imagination!! It’s neat he put his mind to work and came up with the idea, it’s fantastic he wanted to help move that idea into an actual end product, but it’s really inspiring you were willing to go that extra mile to make it happen!!! I’m impressed, I feel I have run into a “Brick Wall” and stars are spinning around my head!! 😉

  2. thisrecycledlife Says:

    Wow! I think that sounds great. I’ve got one a little younger and she is just now interested in helping with the mixing and stirring, I can’t wait for her first solo creation.

  3. Molly Says:

    Yep, I’ve got a May 2000 baby. She’s a redhead too and just a pistol!! We really have to watch her because she’s almost 8 going on 25. Her big brother is almost 15 and her sister is 12.5 so she’s automatically “older” but she still enjoys her little girl things sometimes.

    Grreat blog, btw.

    Molly


Leave a Reply

  • RSS Visit my most recent posts here:

