I’ve neglected the beauty…This week Creative Jan 20-26

Coupla three things I’ve gotta come clean on here…

While the Creative Every Day challenge has inspired me to be more active in using my creative side, it has also caused me to not stay authentic to myself.

You see…I pledged this year to spend A WHOLE LOT LESS money on STUFF. Our lives are being controlled by our stuff and I want that to stop. Now that I’m ‘creating’, I’ve felt justified in going out and buying thrifted / second hand things to ‘repurpose’.

But that just isn’t sitting right.

My ‘repurposing’ is not going to take another priority spot in my life and take me down a path of un-authentic living. It’s just not.

So…today I repledge to not be buying ‘stuff’ to clutter up our home and our life.

Second come clean…

I’ve never had trinkets. I don’t collect anything. I don’t understand the point of things that don’t have a point. (that’s just my INTJ personality..!)

So, I’ve had fun making ‘things’….but I don’t know what to do with those ‘things’.

I’ve got to stick to what is truly me and repurpose things which will have a useful life afterwards….not just something else to add to the clutter.

Third come clean…

What this new creativity stream has done for me is made me realize that I have never taken much time to stop and appreciate beauty. I don’t have a favorite mug. I don’t have a favorite corner to curl up and read in. I just have never spent alot of energy on those kinds of things.

I think I need to.

I think I need to see and appreciate the beauty in everyday things, in everyday people and in everyday circumstance. I need to see those things for what they are and what they bring to me…I need to appreciate the little things.

Perhaps for me, that is going to be my most creative task every day…to simply stop, see, smell, appreciate.

There is beauty and creativity all around me. And I had nothing to do with it.

3 Responses to “I’ve neglected the beauty…This week Creative Jan 20-26”

  1. Violetkey Says:

    Good for you for realizing so quickly that you were not being true to your original intentions. Good luck with your creative activities!

  2. Karen Says:

    “Perhaps for me, that is going to be my most creative task every day…to simply stop, see, smell, appreciate.”

    Yes–what a wonderful realization! There are so many ways to view “Creative Everyday”–it’s going to be different for everybody, and that’s the way it’s supposed to be. I’ve been feeling embarrassed because so much of what I create is food for my family–I actually stopped posting some of the pictures, because there were so many. But I really need to let go of that. I’m at my most creative when I’m feeding my family–I need to embrace that!

    I hope you enjoy your new outlook–because that’s the other thing that “Creative Everyday” is supposed to be–fun!

  3. Mom Says:

    It would make me happy to know that you are slowing down enough to appreciate the truly simply God given things in this world. A beautiful sunrise or sunset, someone to share that with, a single flower instead of a whole bouquet, the curve of a child’s cheek, the twinkle in the eye of someone who loves you. All of those things are what brings true happiness and contentment. So I am glad that you realize that you need to find that contentment. luv ya lots


Leave a Reply

  • RSS Visit my most recent posts here:

