Creative Every Day 2008

ced-logo.jpg

I’m joining up with a ragtag group who is going to work on being creative every day through 2008. No hard and fast rules about how much is created / what is created or even what is shared, but I thought it would motivate me to get out some of the ideas that are floating in my head.Here are a few things I’ve done in the past few days or so.

Found an ADIDAS skirt in a thrift shop,

adidas1.jpg

and since it just completely blew my mind that ADIDAS would make a skirt out of track pant fabric, I just had to buy it. I took apart the skirt panels, and here was the first thing that came out of my brain.

adidas51.jpg

The perfect size to carry around a bottle of water! The welted zip pocket was saved so it’s the perfect place for your key, or change or tissue!

I found the perfect webbed belt to compliment the stripes, which is a good thing because I really didn’t want to have to cut up the other panel with the ADIDAS stripes on it for the strap.
***
Then I found some really great vintage fabric that was just crying out for some new life. These were HUGE pillow shams that I don’t think had ever been used – the fabric was so crisp! I washed and dried it because I was sure it would shrink, and my first inspiration was a cute little flower with rag tag edges.

apron5.jpg

Hmm. I wonder what else I could make with rag tag edges??

apron3.jpg

ta – da…

**
My sister was giving away a bunch of her old clothes and I just knew this sweater could be something more (sorry, I downloaded the fuzzy picture and deleted the good one!). Now it covers an old pillow that I was really tired of!

sweater1.jpg  pillow1.jpg

**

Then I started looking through my scrap bag and started putting pieces together on a felt background. I kind of like it! What you are seeing here is a scan of the original work. There has got to be a nifty idea in here somewhere. Just not sure what to do with either the original, or the scan next…..any ideas???

quilt1.jpg

**’

And…just to find something to do with HBI, we started folding up magazine pages. So far, we have repurposed it into a trivet. Not sure what else you could do with something like this, but I’m sure we can think of something!

trivet1.jpg

And, last but not least….these were made before Christmas when HBI had a friend staying over….they put a bunch of these together (they had help with the hot glue gun) and teachers, bus-drivers, moms and grandmas got very special gifts for Christmas! 

 (idea taken from artsy-craftsy-babe)

buttons2.jpg 

buttons1.jpg

That’s it for now!  Anyone who knows me, knows that I tend to go ‘all out’ on anything I do and it is looking like creating / artsing / crafting is going to be no different!

I hope you will enjoy my journey through Craftdom!

Oh wait….here is a sneak peek at what I’ve been hoarding,   collecting.  I can hardly wait to see how it gets used!

supplies4.jpg  supplies3.jpg

supplies6.jpg  supplies1.jpg

5 Responses to “Creative Every Day 2008”

  1. L'Avion Says:

    OK… I am completely amazed at you! I have a passion for old, beautiful, interesting fabrics that I scavenge from used clothing. What I do is scrappy cut them and sew them into quilts… I know that is done often, but the idea came to me after reading an old book called “In Grandma’s Attic”; A grandmother tells the story of her life to her granddaughter through the memories associated with each particular piece of fabric. I am planning to scan some of the girls ‘best’ artwork, transfer it onto fabric, and incorporate that into a quilt. I am seriously coveting your work/storage space.

  2. Karen Says:

    These are some FANTASTIC ideas. I am in awe of women such as yourself–to conceive the idea and then actually have the skills to create it. I like your blog–I’m looking forward to getting to know you.

  3. Nan Says:

    My stockings came! So cute, I just love them, look forward to seeing how I might use them next year. Thanks again!

    You have a lot of ideas here in just this one post, very cool pillow cover out of the sweater, I think that’s my favorite.

  4. Janet Says:

    I just popped over from CED2008 and I’m amazed! You are one creative gal! I also love all the things you’re collecting to use in some way. Can’t wait to see what you do next!

  5. Julie Says:

    As a reply to:

    Then I started looking through my scrap bag and started putting pieces together on a felt background. I kind of like it! What you are seeing here is a scan of the original work. There has got to be a nifty idea in here somewhere. Just not sure what to do with either the original, or the scan next…..any ideas???

    quilt1.jpg

    My idea for you…What you made was very cool, so visually interesting. I saw on MarthaStewert.com that she would scan vintage fabrics and print them out and then use them for gift wrapping. I think collages would be a fun thing to scan and make into gift wrapping paper.

    My family is reviving a tradition of monthly ladies nights. For the first revival the theme is repurposing old clothes. We meet this Wednesday, so I will have some pics on my website of our creations later in the week. Thanks for the ideas and inspiration!!


Leave a Reply

  • RSS Visit my most recent posts here:

