So far, this one is my favorite..!!!

Here is a project I have been working on for a few weeks now.  It’s going to be for my nephew who plays guitar, and of course, likes old school metal.  Considering that I don’t know how to sew,  and am lousy at following patterns, I had to muddle through this one.

It started with a bag and a raincoat from the thrift shop. 

bag1.jpg

I saw the bag for a buck and I KNEW I could repurpose the findings on this thing for a greater good. 

bag2.jpg

(not sure if those Peanuts embroideries will ever find a home,

but I couldn’t bear to throw them out!)

It was important that the raincoat was a fall season coat…it had a lining with a layer of polyfill in it.  I needed the extra stability to keep the bag’s shape.

ryan1.jpg

From there, I carefully planned out my cuts and went to work.

I added some scraps of camoflague from the robe project I featured earlier; I added a bit of my dog’s broken reflective collar; and I scrounged an 80’s rock album from Iron Maiden.

 huh? 

How does that end up to be something useful and cool???

ryantest.jpg

 

Oh baby, this is cool…!!!!

ryan3.jpg

We had the album cover laminated and hubby helped with putting 6 rivets on each side.  I used the outer and inner pockets which you can’t see in the photo.

I cannot believe the coolness factor of this thing.  If my 17-year-old-nephew doesn’t like it I may just be carrying it around myself!  not sure if I, at 37 1/2,  am cool enough for that album cover, but…you never know!

 

5 Responses to “So far, this one is my favorite..!!!”

  1. Mom Says:

    Wow, girl. That is amazing and ‘he’ is sure to like it. He has turned into such a nice kid and will appreciate Auntie Viv going to such trouble just for him. See you soon,

  2. Mom Says:

    BTW, I saw Tommy twice. Do I get to enter into the contest?????

  3. Sandy Says:

    Wow, I didn’t know you were so talented! I am very impressed!!! BTW, I only saw Tommy once…..

  4. Nan Says:

    This is really impressive! I hope he loved it as much as I think he would.

    Now as far as the peanuts gang, I challenge to you find a new use for that too!!! I know you will! Happy New Year too!

  5. holly Says:

    That is one kickin’ bag!!! You’re amazing. Loved looking at all your projects too.


Leave a Reply

  • RSS Visit my most recent posts here:

